CSP Home Page




Dr. David Abshire and Secretary Thomas J. Ridge

Publius Awards Dinner

The Publius Award is bestowed each year on one or more individuals who have demonstrated bi-partisan leadership at the Federal Level of government. The Publius Award Dinner is held in April each year.


This year the Center will honor Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor. The Awards Dinner will be on Friday, April 23, 2004.  Please contact the Center for more information.


On April 3rd, the Center honored Thomas J. Ridge, first Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security.  Ridge, a former govenor of Pennsylvania, previously served as the first Office of Homeland Security Advisor in the history of the United States of America. In the words of President George W. Bush, he had the strength, experience, personal commitment and authority to accomplish this critical mission. The President established the Office of Homeland Security and the Homeland Security Council following the tragic events of September 11.

Previous Recipients

Senator William H. Frist
Senator John Breaux
Senator Chuck Hagel
Secretary of the Treasury Robert A. Rubin
Senator Howard Baker
Senator John McCain
Senator Patrick Moynihan
Senator Richard Lugar
Vice President Al Gore
Senator Sam Nunn
Senator John D. Rockefeller, IV
Ambassador George Mitchell
The Honorable William Richardson
The Honorable Richard Cheney


Center for the Study of the Presidency
1020 Nineteenth Street, NW - Suite 250 | Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-872-9800 | Fax: 202-872-9811 | E-mail: [email protected]

2004 - 2018