CSP Home Page

Board of Trustees
Fellows Program

Center Staff

CSP Membership
Alumni Association



Center Staff

David M. Abshire
President and CEO

Thomas M. Kirlin
COO and Program

Jay M. Parker

Robert E. Henderson
Vice President

Corazon B. Mendoza
Executive Assistant to the President

Jonah Czerwinski
Senior Research Associate and
Director of Homeland Security Projects

Jeffery Thomas
Research Fellow

Alex J. Douville
Strategic Planning Director
Special Assistant to the President

Phyllis d'Hoop
Director, Civility and Governance Project

Mary B. O'Connor
Director of Outreach

John Boyer
Congessional Liaison

Meghann E. King
Research Assistant,
Homeland Security Projects

Ysbrant A. Marcelis
Research Associate

Catenna J. Daniels
Receptionist and Membership Director

Jessica M. Morgan
Special Assistant, Fellows Program

Bret S. Lambert
Technical Assistant


Staff Biographies

Thomas M. Kirlin, Ph.D.
Chief Operating Officer & Program Director

Dr. Kirlin is the Chief Operating Officer and Program Director at the Center for the Study of the Presidency, where he assists with program development, fundraising and implementation. He also oversees financial, staffing and administrative operations and directs the Center's Vannevar Bush Initiative on innovation, science and technology that, to-date, has produced Marshalling Science, Bridging the Gap: How to Win the War Against Terrorism and Build a Better Peace and Advancing Innovation: Improving the S&T; Advisory Structure and Policy Process. He is also helping to develop an electronic database on homeland security for senior government officials, the research community, Congress and first responders.

For three years Kirlin directed the Center Fellows Program and student symposia, doubling the size of the Fellows Program and orgnizing panels on public policy, Congress, Execuitve Leadership and the media. He started a Center website and revitalized its publications program. He is the editor of Dialogues on Presidential Leadership and The Character of George Washington, among other Center publication, and served as assistant editor of Triumphs and Tragedies of the Modern Presidency: Seventy-Six Case Studies in Presidential Leadership (Praeger, 2001). Dr. Kirlin serves as the Center's Chief Financial Officer and a member of its Board of Trustees.

Before joining the Center, Kirlin taught at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; served for five years as an industry delegate to UN climate change negotiations in Europe and Japan; and for six years produced a national radio show on national energy policy.

Dr. Kirlin earned his Bachelor of Arts with honors at the University of Notre Dame; his Masters and Doctorate are from the University of Iowa. Kirlin also did post-doctoral work at Yale University, under a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, and at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


How can I become involved with the Center?


Center for the Study of the Presidency
1020 Nineteenth Street, NW - Suite 250 | Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-872-9800 | Fax: 202-872-9811 | E-mail: [email protected]


2005 - 2018